Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

What happened to Tom Cooper in the movie Interstellar?

Possible interpretations of his disappearance (Is he dead? Has he moved on?)

Interstellar is one of the films that I love most. If you are watching this video, I guess you also love this film that deeply, right?

Watch it on YouTube

I often rewatch it or parts of it just to enjoy the visuals, the story, and mostly the soundtracks!

But yesterday, while I was watching it again for the "nth" time, I noticed one thing. In the end, while Cooper reunites with his daughter Murphy, it represents forgiveness, acceptance, and closure for the immense sacrifice he made, right?

We know that Cooper is haunted by the difficult decision to leave his children behind for the mission.

But the director does not even once show or mention Tom - his son - after Cooper returned. I checked everywhere. Nothing. Even in the end credits where character's and actor's names are displayed in order of appearance. The name "Tom" is only shown twice - Timothée and Casey.

Interstellar movie end credits scene of cast
Interstellar movie end credits scene of cast

And I really wonder why I never thought about it at all this time! I remember watching this amazing movie in the theater and countless times after that. But I wasn't even once concerned about this missing other than yesterday.

What happened to Tom? Why did the director choose to neglect this character in the end? Why not even mention him? At least just one line?

I believe it's intentional. But "WHY" is the question? Even the TARS repair scene was there.

I feel that this character has a huge, unexplored role in this story. Do you feel the same?

We know that Tom is deeply connected with that farm, Grandpa, and his son Jesse. He probably has unresolved issues and emotions with his father. But in the last video message, he's saying goodbye to Cooper as a sign of moving on. Maybe that was concluded as the end of their relationship.

In the end, the doctor mentions that Cooper is now 124 years old. And Murphy was at the end of her life. So by the look of it and given the brutal climate conditions back on earth, Tom might have already passed away years ago. But still, at least one line of mentioning might have done justice to this character, right? Or one scene in that recorded video broadcasting device...?

I know this movie mostly concentrated on the father-daughter relationship. But still, you know...

I saw very few discussions on this topic on the internet. Not many people are interested in this or might be missed I guess. And I haven't seen any video of anyone asking Nolan about this "missing".

On a different note, the story foreshadowed their separation during the flat tire - corn field chase scene, remember?

I guess then that's it. Tom's fate is open to discussion.

Discussion about this podcast